Clarence Action Network recommendation


The Clarence Action Network is a non political group of Clarence City ratepayers, while we do not recommend candidates to electors, these are the candidates that subscribe to our views and concerns.

New candidates, non aligned:

  • Roger Viney (standing for Alderman and Mayor)

  • Jo Castillo (standing for Alderman and Deputy Mayor)

  • Wendy Kennedy (standing for Alderman)

  • Leanne Doherty (standing for Alderman)

  • Luke Edmunds (standing for Alderman)

Current Aldermen that in the past have supported our view:

  • Richard James (standing for Alderman and Mayor) is an existing Council Alderman and has supported community consultation and agrees with the principles of the Clarence Action Network.

These candidates also subscribe to the issues and concerns of CAN and have party involvement:

  • Beth Warren (standing for Alderman and Mayor)

  • Tom Allen (standing for Alderman)

Remember you are required to vote for at least 12 Aldermen candidates, one for Deputy Mayor and one for Mayor. We have recommended 8 candidates above so you need to choose an additional 4 candidates to make up the required 12 for a valid vote. In addition you also need to include your candidate for Mayor and Deputy Mayor in your list of 12 Aldermen you are voting for.

To assist you with the remainder, please read the candidates answers and views on the use of public land and consultation on the Clarence Action Network website and vote as you see fit.
Learn More →

And remember... Votes need to be posted by the 23rd of October 2018 in order to get to the Electoral office by 10.00am on Tuesday 30th October. You can also drop off at the local Council Chambers or the Electoral Office by 10.00am 30th October 2018.

For more info, please refer to Tasmanian Electoral Commission website
Learn More →


Meet the candidates

Forum with the candidates of the 2018 Clarence City Council local government elections.
Learn More →

Tasmanian Electoral Commission

More information on the Local Government Elections 2018 are available on the Tasmanian Electoral Commission website.
Learn More →